History Through the Artist’s Eye at the Stamford History Center July 1 to August 15
Stamford Art Association and Stamford History Center present in-person art exhibit “History Through the Artist’s Eye” at the Stamford History Center July 1 to August 15
Opening reception and award ceremony: Sunday July 18, 2 p.m. – 4 p.m.
The Stamford Art Association (SAA) and the Stamford History Center (SHC) have teamed up to create a special event examining the broad perspective of how history is portrayed in the artist’s work, i.e. tell how an artist uses history – personal or community – to inform their work. This juryed exhibition does not focus on Stamford but on how personal memories or opinions and experiences influence your art. The in-person jury exhibit will be presented at the Stamford History Center, 1508 High Ridge Road, Stamford, CT. From July 1 to August 15. It is a multimedia jury exhibition with cash prizes.
Reception: Sunday, July 18, 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. at the Stamford History Center, 1508 High Ridge Road, Stamford, CT
The juror is Dr Thomas A. Zoubek, president and CEO of the Stamford History Center for 20 years. Dr Zoubek holds a PhD in Anthropology from Yale and has curated numerous exhibitions at the Stamford History Center.
Categories: Mixed media, Photography, Drawing, Painting, Engraving in all styles
The Stamford Art Association was established in 1971 in a historic townhouse dating from around 1874 *, the Stamford Art Association is a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization whose members include painters, sculptors, printmakers , photographers and multimedia artists. We are hosting an international exhibition, the Faber Birren Color Award Show, and a High School Student Show for Fairfield County students. All artists, not just members, are welcome to submit their work for exhibitions. The annual competitions attract applications from local, regional and national artists. The Stamford Art Association is supported by grants from the Connecticut Commission on the Arts, the City of Stamford and the Kuriansky Foundation and by generous donations from artists and friends.
Since its inception, SAA has continued to serve the community and has grown to include Fairfield County high school students with annual exhibit. The SAA Gallery is used to exhibit local and national works, offering a richness that is reflected in the variety of mediums and the association’s ever-evolving origins.
The Stamford History Center, the municipal historian of Stamford, is an educational and research institution whose main functions are to collect, preserve, interpret and share artefacts and information relating to the great Stamford, in order to engage citizens in telling their stories.
Vision: The Stamford History Center is dedicated to the preservation of regional history and our diverse cultural heritage. We provide opportunities for our community to understand and discover the past through our library, the presentation of exhibits and exhibits, lectures, demonstrations, special events, participatory programs and tours of the unique Hoyt house. -Barnum, built in 1699.
photo credit Norm Siegal “After the Hunt (circa 1943)” oil painting 24 x 30
Stamford History Center, 1508 High Ridge Road, Stamford, CT